bedding

A general forum for the discussion of hunting with beagles, guns, clothing and other equipment and just talking dawgs! (Tall tales on hunting allowed, but remember, first liar doesn't stand a chance)

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

span870

bedding

Post by span870 »

Researched some but I have a question. I use straw now but am out and can't find any. I see a lot of guys suggest hay. Mainly orchard grass. What I find here usually says mixed with some fescue. Is that okay?

mjd

Re: bedding

Post by mjd »

Straw got hard to come by around here to so i started picking up blankets at yard sells and using them the last few years

Crow

Post by Crow »

I've been using regular hay for 3 years now. I like it a lot better than straw. Not nearly as much dust and doesn't break down nearly as quick. The blankets will work well but if you have a chewer then the risk of a dog swallowing a piece and suffering a bowel obstruction is a real danger.

mjd

Post by mjd »

Crow wrote:I've been using regular hay for 3 years now. I like it a lot better than straw. Not nearly as much dust and doesn't break down nearly as quick. The blankets will work well but if you have a chewer then the risk of a dog swallowing a piece and suffering a bowel obstruction is a real danger.
Then they will learn not to chew

Crow

Post by Crow »

mjd wrote:
Crow wrote:I've been using regular hay for 3 years now. I like it a lot better than straw. Not nearly as much dust and doesn't break down nearly as quick. The blankets will work well but if you have a chewer then the risk of a dog swallowing a piece and suffering a bowel obstruction is a real danger.
Then they will learn not to chew
Lol yeah, they won't chew again for sure.

warddog

Post by warddog »