Speed Question???

A general forum for the discussion of hunting with beagles, guns, clothing and other equipment and just talking dawgs! (Tall tales on hunting allowed, but remember, first liar doesn't stand a chance)

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

sunsetredbeagles

Speed Question???

Post by sunsetredbeagles »

If you have a pack that runs 6-7 in speed and buy a pup that u know is 8-9 in speed,will the hound that is very fast slow down and run with the speed of your pack or will it pull the rest of the pack because it is in the line the dog came from to be fast?

Dale L.

Re: Speed Question???

Post by Dale L. »

My experience has been that if a dog is going to be fast he is going to be fast and not slow down with rest of the pack. Usually it can go the other way. The slower dogs will sometimes try to speed up if they are competitive which can cause them to get rough. This has just been my experience and I am by no means an expert.

BCBeagles

Post by BCBeagles »

We have some variance in our hounds with speeds of 8 down to a 6 or so. They run well togther. The fast ones may overshoot and the ones packing in behind clean it up and it really leads to good running once they get a rabbit or two in on the day. It can be a little crazy to start! LOL. I am talking 10-12 hounds though. Not 3-5, JMO.

mybeagles

Post by mybeagles »

I base speed on a dogs solo speed. If you base it on what they do in a pack, oftentimes your basing it on their competetiveness, or lack of brains to slow a little and run the line.

Speed is the rate they can run and keep contact with the scent line enough to keep the game going. Many, if not most dogs running wild through the woods are just rough, not fast.

That being said, if you pup has any brains it will usually run at a slower rate than your older dogs until it gains the experience and confidence to go faster. If it consistently runs out front of the two adult dogs you either have an awsome pup, or a wild fool.